A stunning new series from author Jessica Coulter Smith…

Jessica Coulter Smith, known for her Ashton Grove Werewolves series, has branched out into Sci-Fi erotica with her Vaaden Captives series, published with Changeling Press. For those who may feel uncertain about reading the new series, it holds the same passionate spark as the werewolf books the author is known for. The first book in the Vaaden Captives series, Sorcha, released in October 2010.  The second, Enid, followed in November 2010.

While readers may not be sure about reading a different sub-genre by the author, I don’t think they will be disappointed.  The writing is still excellent, possibly even better than before.

Blurb of Vaaden Captives: Enid

Having been abused by men, Enid doesn’t trust easily and cannot stand to be touched. When she’s claimed as a sex slave on another planet, she fears what will happen to her. Bastian is a pleasant surprise — patient and caring, he’s not what she expected in an owner. As she gets to know him, she finds herself doing the unthinkable — falling in love.

Excerpt of Vaaden Captives: Enid

Rising unsteadily to my feet, I slowly walked into the small room. Steam rolled out of the shower area and I nearly sighed in pleasure. It had been ages since I’d had a hot shower and I was looking forward to it.

As Bastian walked out, I stared at the open bathroom door. I wanted a shower, but not with the door open. Uncertain what to do, I waited.

When Bastian returned, he was carrying a shirt, which I assumed to be his. After setting the shirt down on a long counter, he then removed a towel from a cabinet on the opposite wall.

Bastian walked to my side and stared down at me a moment before slowly reaching for me. “I won’t hurt you,” he whispered.

I held my breath, my body tense, as I watched his fingers curled into the hem of my dress and began to lift it in small increments. I stood frozen like a statue, wanting to cover myself but unable to move. My chest rose and fell, and I felt unable to get enough air.

He pulled the dress over my head and dropped it on the floor. Slowly turning my body, he gave me a gentle nudge into the shower, never touching me anywhere intimate.

Even with my back to him, I could feel his eyes boring into me, making the hair at the base of my skull prickle. Was he going to watch me the entire time, I wondered? If so, it was going to make bathing a nightmare. I couldn’t imagine him watching me as I washed my body. Considering what I’d heard of Vaaden males, though, it was possible he got off on that kind of thing.

A moment later, I knew he no longer stood a few feet away. As I glanced over my shoulder, I looked up into a pair of violet eyes and my breath left me, as did my courage and strength. My knees weakened and I sank to the shower floor, huddled against the wall.

“Easy, Enid. I promise I won’t hurt you,” he crooned as he crouched before me, his hands turning my face to his.

My eyes focused on his chest. Broad and heavily muscled, it made my mouth run dry. If I hadn’t been terrified, I might have gladly welcomed him into my bed. He was definitely the best looking man I’d ever laid eyes on.

One thought on “A stunning new series from author Jessica Coulter Smith…

Leave a Reply

